Spokesmen

In order to keep Handball exciting, protecting the integrity of our competitions is of the utmost importance.


Here you can find all our useful information, watch video interviews with our experts and even test your knowledge by doing a quiz after each module!

Start Videos

THE 5 MAJOR RULES TO RESPECT

by anyone involved in handball

  • Do not bet on handball, either directly or through a friend
  • Never fix a match, even by influencing a secondary phase of the game
  • Do not accept gifts, money or invitations from unknown or suspicious persons and do not listen to their promises
  • Never offer information about yourself, another player or club that is not already public knowledge that could be used for sports betting
  • If you are approached to fix a match, have suspicions or have any questions on sensitive information, do not keep it to yourself. Talk to someone you trust

News

SPORTS BETTING: FACTS AND FIGURES

Information:

 

There are two ways to place bets:

  • online (using the internet)
  • or "in cash" (at a bookmakers)

Some countries simply forbid sports betting on their territory (India and USA excl. Nevada). However, most countries, like France, allow both forms of betting. Most often, when authorized and regulated, online betting is offered through a licensing system and cash betting through a state-run company which holds a monopoly over the market (e.g. Française des Jeux). France is equipped with legislation on gambling and online gambling, which regulates online sports betting (Act of May 2010).

 

Two main forms of betting exist in France:

  • Totalizator / Pari-Mutual betting: bets are pooled and shared equally between the winners. The bettor does not know in advance how much he can win.
  • Odds betting: an operator offers predefined odds on bets, which represents the probability of an event happening which allows the bettor to know in advance the amount they are likely to win if the bet is correct.

INTERNATIONAL FIGURES 2015

  • €1000 billion: the total amount bet on sports worldwide in 2015, which almost equals the GDP of South Korea. This figure is an estimate; some believe it to be more in the range of €500 billion.
  • €22 billion: the estimated gross product of global betting in 2015, which is the combined turnover of all sports betting operators. This figure has more than tripled over the last 15 years. However, while sports betting attracts such large sums of money, turnover for operators is relatively low compared to other sectors. In other words, sports betting operators pull in as much money as large multinational companies but without seeing such large profit margins.
  • 5%: the share of sports betting in the global market of gambling and games of chance (casino, poker, horse racing).
  • 85%: the global market share (calculated on the amount bet) held by illegal sports betting.
  • 45%: the number of cases of match-fixing in tennis related to sports betting. Closely followed by football (40%) and then cricket and snooker (2%). This is according to the English authority on the regulation of gambling (Gambling Commission).

FRENCH FIGURES 2015

  • €1440 million: the amount of bets placed on websites of authorized online betting operators according to ARJEL. This figure is up 30% from 2014. During Q4, bets reached an incredible €452 million. The largest amount in any quarter since the opening of the online gambling market in 2010. 62%: the share, when combining all bets made on sports, of bets placed on football competitions from licensed operators in France. Handball has about 1% of bets placed with these operators.
  • 87%: the share of bets placed on three sports: football, tennis and basketball.
  • €19.8 million: the amount of bets placed on the Rugby World Cup 2015 from operators authorized by ARJEL.
  • €16.1 million: the amount of bets placed on handball competitions from licensed operators. € 5.5 million of which was bet on the Men´s World championships and € 2.2 million on the Women's World championships. This represents just over 1% of the total amount of bets, in all disciplines.
  • €2.9 million: the amount gained from « betting rights » in France (estimated ARJEL). The right to bet is the sum donated by authorized operators to French competition organizers. This represents about 1% of the amount of bets placed on the websites of the operators and on the competitions held in France. For handball (FFHB + NHL), the amount taken from FDJ's points of sale reached approximately € 110,000.

Nos porte-paroles

Pour que le hand continue de vous faire vibrer, protéger l’intégrité de nos compétitions est un enjeu majeur.


Retrouvez toutes les informations utiles, les interviews vidéos de nos experts et venez tester vos connaissances en répondant aux quizz de chaque module !

Je démarre les vidéos

Les 5 règles majeures à respecter

par les acteurs du handball

  • Ne pariez pas sur le handball, ni directement ni par l’intermédiaire de vos proches
  • Ne participez jamais au trucage d’un match, même en influençant une phase de jeu secondaire
  • N'acceptez pas de cadeau, d’argent, d’invitation de personnes inconnues ou suspectes et restez sourd à leurs promesses
  • Ne divulguez jamais une information inconnue du public sur vous-même, un autre joueur ou votre club, qui pourrait être utilisée pour des paris sportifs
  • En cas d’approche pour truquer un match, de soupçons ou en cas de question sur des informations sensibles : ne le gardez pas pour vous et parlez-en à quelqu’un de confiance

Actualités

LES PARIS SPORTIFS : éléments d’information et chiffres

Quelques données :

 

Il existe deux moyens de proposer ou de prendre des paris sportifs :

  • en ligne (sur Internet),
  • ou « en dur » (dans des points de vente qui constituent un réseau physique).

Certains pays interdisent purement et simplement les paris sportifs sur leur territoire (Inde ou USA sauf dans le Nevada). Mais la plupart des pays autorisent les paris sportifs en ligne et en dur, comme la France. Le plus souvent, lorsqu’ils sont autorisés et régulés, les paris sportifs en ligne sont proposés au travers d’un système de licence et les paris en dur par une société étatique disposant d’un monopole (ex : Française des Jeux). La France s’est notamment dotée d’une législation relative aux jeux d’argent et de hasard en ligne, qui règlemente notamment les paris sportifs en ligne (Loi du 12 mai 2010)

 

Deux formes principales de paris sportifs existent en France :

  • le pari mutuel : les mises sont partagées équitablement entre les gagnants et le parieur ne sait pas à l’avance combien il peut gagner ;
  • le pari à cote : un opérateur propose des paris avec une cote (valeur) qu’il a préalablement fixée, qui représente la probabilité qu’un évènement se réalise et qui permet au parieur de connaître à l’avance la somme qu’il est susceptible de gagner si son pari est correct.

LES CHIFFRES AU NIVEAU INTERNATIONAL EN 2015

  • 1.000 milliards € : le montant des mises enregistrées dans le monde en 2015, ce qui correspond presque au PIB d’un pays comme la Corée du Sud. Ce chiffre est une estimation, certains observateurs l’établissent à 500 millions €.
  • 22 milliards € : l’estimation du Produit Brut des Jeux au niveau mondial en 2015, c’est-à-dire le chiffre d’affaires cumulé des opérateurs de paris sportifs. Ce chiffre a plus que triplé en 15 ans. Cependant, si les paris sportifs drainent des sommes considérables, les chiffres d’affaires des opérateurs sont relativement faibles en comparaison d’autres secteurs d’activités. En d’autres termes, les opérateurs de paris sportifs brassent autant d’argent que de grandes sociétés multinationales mais n’en retirent que de faibles gains.
  • 5% : la part que représentent les paris sportifs au sein du marché mondial des jeux d’argent et de hasard (Casino, poker, hippisme).
  • 85% : la part (calculée sur le montant des mises) occupée dans le monde par les paris sportifs illégaux.
  • 45% : selon l’Autorité anglaise de régulation des jeux (Gambling Commission), la part du nombre d’affaires de trucages liés au paris sportifs qui concerne le tennis. Viennent ensuite le football (40%) et le cricket et le snooker (2%).

LES CHIFFRES AU NIVEAU FRANCAIS EN 2015

  • 1440 millions € : selon l’ARJEL, le montant des mises engagées sur les sites des opérateurs de paris en ligne agréés par cette autorité. Ce chiffre est augmentation de 30% par rapport à 2014. Lors du 4ème trimestre, les mises ont atteint la somme de 452 m€, soit le montant le plus élevé lors d’un trimestre depuis l’ouverture du marché des jeux en ligne en 2010. 62% : la part, toutes disciplines confondues, des mises globales prises sur des compétitions de football auprès des opérateurs agréés en France. Le handball représente environ 1% des mises engagées auprès de ces opérateurs.
  • 87% : la part des mises engagées sur les trois sports suivants : football, tennis et basketball.
  • 19,8 millions € : le montant des mises engagées sur les matches de la Coupe du Monde de rugby 2015 auprès des opérateurs agréés par l’ARJEL.
  • 16,1 millions € : le montant des mises engagées sur des compétitions de handball auprès des opérateurs agréés, dont 5,5 millions € sur les championnats du Monde masculins et 2,2 millions€ sur les championnats du Monde féminins. Cela représente un peu plus de 1% du montant cumulé des mises, toutes disciplines confondues.
  • 2,9 million € : le montant du « droit au pari » en France (estimation de l’ARJEL). Le droit au pari est la somme reversée par les opérateurs agréés aux organisateurs français de compétitions. Cette somme représente environ 1% du montant des mises engagées sur les sites de ces opérateurs et portant sur des compétitions se déroulant en France. Pour le handball (FFHB+LNH), le montant de cette redevance atteint, en intégrant les paris pris dans le réseau physique de la FDJ, la somme atteint 110.000 € environ.